The Mansion of E
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

The Origin of Hax (SPOILERS)

2 posters

Go down

The Origin of Hax (SPOILERS) Empty The Origin of Hax (SPOILERS)

Post by Geoduck Wed Jun 04, 2014 1:54 pm

Some time back a reader asked about Hax the Fixit, and I was going to write up this description, but then the old Forum died. So, better late than never.

possibly-disillusioning SPOILERS follow

First off, Hax's name was inspired in part by the word "hackers", and in part by a villain-character in Anne McCaffrey's Dragonriders of Pern novels named Fax.

Secondly, Hax and his original Pale-mount offer a perfect example of how I originally went about creating the strip, way back when. First of all, the version of the MoE that now exists on ComicGenesis is/was a reboot; when I started drawing the strip, I posted it on my personal website, and maybe (fortunately) only two or three people saw it. I got as far as Rosemary and Sylvester going into Le Tree, when I found out about CG and similar sites. Having this resource, and my artistic abilities having improved somewhat, I decided to start over. I completely redid all the earliest strips, up until about the moment where Rosemary decapitates the Trog in the elevator. I also added in more all-new strips; in the original version, for instance, Fred, Myrrh, Amos and Comshaw&Co. did not appear at all. When I reached the point where the art wasn't totally horrifically bad, I started reposting tweaked copies of the originals instead of redoing them completely, interspersing them with new/additional strips. (Which is why the art in the early strips might appear to be so erratic.)